Historic restoration of the Society of Saint John the Evangelist’s monastery, chapel and guest house. Renovations within the monastery included restoring intricate original interior details, such as unique hardwood floors, stained glass and mosaic marble flooring, installing gas-fired inserts in four fire places, washing and restoring the chapel’s stone walls, new carpeting, lighting, paint and wood floors that were sanded and refinished. New electrical and tele-data systems were also installed in the guest rooms and monastery bedrooms. Exterior renovations included new underground drainage, brick walkways, stairs and concrete ramps to the vestibule.
- 31,455 SF
- 26-month schedule
- Originally built in the 1930’s
- Construction was preceded by 18 months of extensive preconstruction services to ensure that every aspect of the restoration was carefully planned including constructability, logistics planning, scheduling and estimating
- The arches in the chapel’s cloister were encased in frameless glass to enhance the view of the courtyard and adjacent Charles River
- The addition to the second and third floor houses the new library